June 29 Recap

June 29 Recap

Last week’s UCAR feature winner James Greybeal, Rural Retreat and Glade Spring’s Danny Bland led the field to the green flag at Wythe Raceway Saturday night. The two drivers had numerous double file restarts as the yellow flag was waved several times for spinouts, flat tires, engine malfunctions and a wheel breaking off of a car. Bland held on to take the win with Greybeal finishing in second followed by Daniel Wright, Rural Retreat; Dillon Huffman, Sugar Grove and Justin Farris of Marion.

Modified ace Ron Lawson, Austinville racked up another win to make it four for the season. Marion’s Justin Blevins kept the pressure on Lawson for the 20 lap feature event by taking the inside line to pull even with Lawson each lap. Lawson prevailed at the finish line. Blevins, Tyler Arrington, Honaker; Morgan Widener, Marion and Brent Hilton, Rural were the top five.

Pro Mini driver Shawn King, Wytheville racked up win number six. Points leader Jason Powers, Marion was second with Gary Rudolph, Fries; Brad Carpenter, Lansing, NC; and Sugar Grove’s Chris Martin in fifth.

It was Tennessee versus Virginia in the FASTRAK Late Model 25 lap feature. Lance Reynolds, Max Meadows tried every racing line on the half mile oval but was unable to beat the smooth driving Jensen Ford of Piney Flats, TN to the checkered flag. Mount Airy, NC driver Ryan Atkins held off Tam Topham, Wytheville for third with Clinton Cook, Radford taking fifth.

The fans favorite racing division, the R & C Super Street race were not disappointed as side by side, nose to tail racing was the norm for the most exciting race of the evening. Robbie Childress of Speedwell and and Keith Griffitts, Sugar Grove led the drivers to the green flag. Entering turn one, three wide, several cars bumped and Childress spun to the inside bring out the caution and a restart. Childress suffered mechanical woes and retired to the pits. On the restart, Jerry Dillow, Bluefied, WV powered to the front with Griffitts and Michael Deskins, Tazewell side by side, giving chase to the leader. The trio of Dillow, Deskins and Griffitts had the fans on their feet cheering for their favorite driver. On lap 11 Deskins moved to the lead with Dillow slipping to third as Griffitts was also able to make the pass with Joe Bonham, Sugar Grove now in the fray. With two laps to go Dillow spun in the middle of turns one and two setting up a very exciting finish, the green, white, checkered Saturday night shootout. Now all the fans were standing as the green waved for the final time with the double file restart showing Deskins and Keith in the front row.and Bonham and Randy Taylor, Chilhowie in row two. Deskins took the win over Griffitts by one tenth of second with Bonham one tenth of a second quicker than Taylor. Kevin Cox, Ceres finished fifth.

UCAR 2 driver Julianna Cooper, Charlotte, NC took her third win of the season followed by Bailey Wright, Marion; Jake Phipps, Chilhowie; Justus Bowyer, Rural Retreat and Jacob Thomas, Marion in 12 to 16 year age division.

A full racing program this Saturday will also feature the most unusual and spectacular WYTHE RACEWAY FIREWORKS Show. The high altitude aerial display will stage in the back straight area. All the race vehicles will be moved from the front pit road to allow the especially designed Stadium Fireworks to setup. Once the choreographed music begins, a non-stop aerial pyrotechnic display will keep your attention. General admission $10.00, Seniors $8.00, Youth 11-15 $5.00. Kids 10 and are free. Races begin at 7:30 pm featuring FASTRAK late models, R & C Super Street, Modifieds, Pro Mini and UCARS (U can also race).