Wythe Raceway News 7-13-1203

Wythe Raceway News 7-13-1203

Lance Reynolds wins FASTRAK Late Model race.


Lance Reynolds, Max Meadows became the first FASTRAK driver to get two wins, this season in the highly competitive Late Model Division Saturday night at Wythe Raceway. Reynolds battled Piney Flats, TN driver, Jensen Ford for several laps before he took command of the race. Daniel Baggerly, Rural Retreat worked his way from fifth starting position to finish second just in front of Ford. Trevor Cregger, Christiansburg and Barry Arnold, Max Meadows were the top five.

Modified drivers Morgan Widener, Marion and Brent Hilton, Rural Retreat  went 20 laps side by side for  most of the race. Widener led all 20 laps as Hilton could pull up beside him but to no avail. R K Dix and Ron Lawson finished third and fourth with former track champion Michael Davis, Atkins returning to the raceway for a fifth place finish. Widener also won the Modern Shoe Pole award for being the fastest qualifier.

Joe Bonham, Sugar Grove won his first race of the season in the high competitive R & C Super Street race. It was an action packed sideways 20 laps with 10 drivers swapping positions throughout the field. Michael Deskins, Tazewell; Jerry Dillow, Bluefield, WV; Keith Griffitts, Sugar Grove and Kevin Cox, Ceres were top five across the finish line but each at been at the front and changed race positions every other lap.

Jason Powers  of Marion increased his points lead in the Pro Mini division by winning his second race of the season. Galax driver Dennis Jones got by Travis Harden of Marion after contact in turn four sending Harden in to the wall. Doug Monday, Max Meadows; Gary Rudolph, Fries and Chris Martin,  Sugar Grove were first five to cross the stripe.

The UCAR 2 drivers had a rough night with several cars receiving a lot of damage on lap 10 of the 12 lap event in turn four. All of the drivers were OK but the same could not be said for their cars. At the checkers it was Austin Cregger, Christiansburg getting his first win of the season. Charlotte, NC driver Julianna Cooper, Ashley Umberger, Rural Retreat and Jake Phipps raced each close lap after lap but at the positions did not change. Justus Boyer, Rural Retreat was fifth.

Twin UCAR races were the headline event of the evening as the large field of 28 racers took the green flag with Danny Bland, Glade Spring out in front.  Several cautions for spins, being spun out and flat tires slowed the race for several laps and then another rain delay pit the UCARS on pit road.  The track was quickly sealed in when the rain stopped by the Wythe Raceway Track Packers association.  The group of professional track packers had the track in race shape and then the UCARS were turned loose again. Bland and last year’s Wythe Track Champion Dillon Huffman of Sugar Grove showed the fans what UCAR racing was all about as they skillfully navigated the traffic on their way to the checkered flag for race number one. Third through fifth were: Brandon McClure, Troutdale; Daniel Wright, Rural Retreat and Randy Stoupe of Wytheville.

A $100.00 bonus was on the line if Bland could win the second UCAR race with the stipulation that Bland would start at the rear of the field. Bland methodically passed cars on his march to the front. Huffman and Stroupe were racing each other for the lead with Junior Hall of Marion in third. With several laps to go Bland got by Hall and then Stoupe. Then it was an exciting race between Dillon and Bland as raced each hard but it was Bland at the checkered flag taking his second victory of the night and the Bonus money. Stroupe was third followed by Hall and Justin Farris of Marion.

No races will be held at Wythe Raceway on July 20th which is the date for the annual summer vacation date for fans, drivers and crew members. The Children’s Gold Rush will be held on July27 along with a full racing program.